Future Plans.

Future Plans.

‘The trick of it, she told herself, is to be courageous and bold and make a difference. Not change the world exactly, just the bit around you. Go out there with your double-first, your passion and your new Smith Corona* electric typewriter and work hard at…something. Change lives through art maybe. Write beautifully. Cherish your friends, stay true to your principles, live passionately and fully and well. Experience new things. Love and be loved if at all possible. Eat sensibly. Stuff like that.’ —David Nicholls, ‘One Day’.

I love this paragraph. In the book, Emma Morley is wondering how exactly she is going to fill her days, now that she has graduated and has no more classes to go to. This is what she comes up with. I think it’s wonderful, because it perfectly sums up what I want to do, too. I want to write and change and influence. I also think it’s very well written.

*Read about Smith Corona and its typewriters here: http://is.gd/n3I9AU.

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. YESYESYESYESYES.
    And I’ve wanted a Smith Corona typewriter for quite some time now.

Leave a comment